best online flight booking website?

expedia screenI fly quite often and need good online flight booking website. I’ve tried couple of them and finally settled with Expedia (http://www.expedia.com/) Expedia offers really well thought out experience for choosing the best flight available.

It has all the basics that every flight booking website should have:

  • it remembers your departure airport – as you usually start from same place in your travel
  • it proposes reasonable flight dates for the trip – why it’s so difficult for most of the sites to place good default dates. It’s much easier to update some dates than type them from scratch.
  • it has flight search featured prominently on the homepage – quick and easy to search
    it allows you to order by price but also via flight duration and time of arrival/departures

It has couple of useful options that others can only dream of:

  • it helps with misspelled airport names – do you always know how to spell Ljubljana when you need to go to this City in Slovenia?
  • it can advice that there are better offers when flight is day before or after
  • it can advice if there is possibility to fly to nearby airport instead
  • it has (unfortunatelly US only) opportunity to search for best prices of flight when your dates are flexible – you can say – I want to go from place A to place B, when I should go so I get best offer

It’s really showcase of great user experience. Expedia has such good experience that I usually have better visibility for flight booking options there than professional travel agents.

It has all it needs for occasional traveler. Just some ideas for improvements for frequent travelers:

  • would be great to have more details on the fare rules for advanced users (how flexible is the ticket, what’s the booking class)
  • would be great to know what airline operates the flight for code shared flights – so I can avoid getting flights by Tyrolean Airlines even if book Austrian Air. 😉
  • would be great to have possibility to search using parameters of frequent flier program. So one can limit the search to airlines that are members of certain programs.

Do you use Expedia? Do you maybe use other online engine that offers even better experience? What are your experiences with flight booking systems? Your comments are very welcome!

23 comments so far

  1. […] In my blog among other things I do reviews of websites and pass my comments and ideas for improvement. I did review of Expedia website in article about best online flight booking website. It was about 2 weeks ago. Now (Aug-16) it’s on #4 place on Google for “best flight booking” search, #1 for “best booking engine” and in absolute top for many other related searches. Don’t be surprised when you see other results on Google now – Internet is ever changing. […]

    • Tedesco McLean on

      I just had a horrible experience with Expedia. When I tried to share this with a reservation agent she was rude and snarky. I spoke to her supervisor. On hold with periodic checks but the total time was in excess of 1/2 an hour with NO resolution. Don’t use Expedia!

      • Jon McCoille on

        Unfortunately I also had a TERRIBLE experience with EXPEDIA.IE.
        I booked and received confirmation of a flight,15 minutes later received a call from Expedia stating that the booking did not go through and my card was charged only a small admin amount which would be returned within 7 to 10 days and to go-ahead and book again.I duly went ahead as advised and again the same happened and again was advised that a small admin charge was taken from my credit card account whioch again wouild be refunded within 7 to 10 working days.At this stage I decided that I would FORGET EXPEDIA and I proceeded to book the same flighjts with another travel web-site,all was well but my credit card was rejected.I contacted my bank to discover that EXPEDIA had charged my credit twice 1406 euro each time a total of 2800 euro.I spent approximately 4 hours on and off the phone to EXPEDIA and still did not suceed in getting them to reimburse my card.I finally consulted my solicitor and they finally reimbursed my card but I will not receive my OWN/BORROWED monay into my account for 7 to 10 working days.I now do not have the funds to complete my booking withj my other travel agent.
        Unfortunately, I have to ADVISE do NOT deal with EXPEDIA.
        FOR JON.

  2. […] Couple of days ago I’ve given you story of my article with review of Expedia website called best online flight booking website. It scored very well with Google and ranked very high in couple of important keywords. I did some tests and optimizations of this post to achieve high ranking in google and wrote post about my efforts. You can read my post on search engine optimization with Google. […]

  3. John on

    I wonder if you and people know that EXPEDIA is listed in the top ripoff link at the bad business bureau ( http://www.ripoffreport.com ) and has two “dedicated” websites due to poor customer support and lies: http://www.victimsofexpedia.com and http://www.shameonexpedia.com

    Kind regards

    • Tedesco McLean on

      I certainly found out the hard way. I will NEVER use Expedia again (and I passed this on to them, too for all the good it will probably do). Maybe their internal quality department might catch a clue and get back to me…Nah!

  4. pawel on

    I’ve reviewed it from perspective of webdesign and found it one of the best booking websites – it has excellent ability to browse and search for the best flight options. I don’t intend to comment of quality of their customer support. Best regards and sorry to hear about your troubles.

  5. […] One of the ways I use my blog is to test various search optimization techniques. I’ve written successful post with review of expedia as flight booking website and optimized it to get high ranking. I got pretty high in some good keywords and was playing with it a bit. I’ve written two other posts about my experience there – you can see them here and here. […]

  6. […] blog as SEO (Search Engine Optimization) playground. I’ve written successful post with review of expedia as flight booking website and optimized it to get high ranking. I kept working on optimization until the moment that I […]

  7. EFlight on

    Thanks for the information.

  8. Year One Online on

    If you ever want to read a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this article for 4/5. Decent info, but I have to go to that damn msn to find the missed bits. Thank you, anyway!
    p.s. Year One is already on the Internet and you can watch it for free.

  9. dreamharvest on

    You did only search for the flight in Expedia, isn’t it?Buy a ticket from them and write after your travel..its different! Ranking the design of the site, sometime mislead people’s mind as if it was ranked on the quality & reliability!

  10. Lainey on

    first time i am wanting to take my children to florida. googled “best online flights” as i don’t want to be conned and the best reviews/advice is folks who have used these sites. just read this thread and i am none the wiser. does anyone no a alround good site for flights to florida please

  11. Cory on

    Hi, always i used to check website posts here early in the dawn, for the reason that i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and more.

  12. Clarice on

    Yes! Finally something about flight websites.

  13. Vania on

    Ahaa, its fastidious conversation concerning this piece of
    writing here at this blog, I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

  14. Kitty on

    My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was entirely right.

    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info!

    Thanks!

  15. I’d like to thank you for the effrts you’ve puut in writing
    this blog. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blkg posts by you in the
    future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivatedd me
    to get my own site noow 😉

  16. Marquis on

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation buut I find this topic to be actually something
    which I thionk I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to
    get the hang of it!

  17. get in touch with T-Mobile on

    Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
    out annd tell you I genuinely enjoy readding through your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics?
    Thank you!

  18. Eden on

    I do not know if it’s jjust me oor if everybody else
    encountering issues with your site. It seems like some of the written text on your posts are
    running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment
    and let me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a issue with
    my browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Thank
    you

  19. Rickie on

    I aam sure this paragraph has touched all the internet people, its really really good article on building up new webpage.

  20. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to
    say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.

    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!


Leave a Reply

